- What happens if the batter hits the catcher with his backswing?
- Does the runner or fielder have the right of way?
- Can a first baseman block the base?
- Do runners have to slide on a double play?
- What is it called when a runner is trying to advance to a base and the fielder who is not making a play makes contact with the runner?
- Can you run out of the baseline to avoid a tag?
- What is the obstruction rule?
- Is runner out if hit by thrown ball?
- Is a balk a delayed dead ball?
- When can a catcher block the plate?
- How do you score a base runner hit by batted ball?
- Do runners have to slide into home?
- Can a runner go back to first after touching second?
- Can a fielder stand in the baseline?
- What happens if a batted ball hits a runner?
- Is it a homerun if you catch the ball and fall over the fence?
- Can the third base coach touch a runner?
- Who covers second base on a steal?
- Is it legal to carry your bat around the bases?
- Does a base runner have to avoid a fielder?
- Is obstruction a dead ball?
What happens if the batter hits the catcher with his backswing?
If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference)..
Does the runner or fielder have the right of way?
The protection continues until the fielder makes a play or makes a throw after fielding the ball. From beginning to end of this sequence, the fielder has the right of way and runners must avoid impeding the fielder. Here’s the rub. The rules protect only one fielder.
Can a first baseman block the base?
Basically, the rule states that if a fielder is in the act of making a play at a base and he is in possession of the ball or awaiting a thrown ball, he may block the base.
Do runners have to slide on a double play?
In all rule sets (NFHS, NCAA, pro), there is no requirement for players to slide. If a player slides, however, it must be a legal slide. On the double play at second base, the runner must either peel off away from the base to not interfere with the throw or slide legally.
What is it called when a runner is trying to advance to a base and the fielder who is not making a play makes contact with the runner?
Defensive interference is an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch. (c) Catcher Interference. The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when the catcher or any fielder interferes with him.
Can you run out of the baseline to avoid a tag?
A runner, in general, is allowed to run outside of the base line. However, when a tag play is being made on the runner, the runner must go directly toward the base and can only evade a tag by dodging up to three feet to the left or right, sliding, ducking, or, in very rare situations, jumping over the tag.
What is the obstruction rule?
Definition. Official Baseball Rule 2.00 defines obstruction as: The act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. … After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, he can no longer be in the “act of fielding” the ball …
Is runner out if hit by thrown ball?
If a thrown ball hits a runner while running the bases, the runner is not out unless the umpire judges that the runner intentionally interfered, obstructed, hindered or confused the defense attempting to make a play. There can be interference with a play or without a play.
Is a balk a delayed dead ball?
The penalty for a balk is that all base runners are awarded one base. The penalty for an illegal pitch is awarding one ball to the batter (unless the batter reaches first base safely on the pitch). A balk is a delayed dead ball. … If on the pitch the ball is put in play, allow play to conclude.
When can a catcher block the plate?
Enforcing Rule 7.13 Unless the catcher is in possession of the ball, the catcher cannot block the pathway of the runner as he is attempting to score. If, in the judgment of the Umpire, the catcher, without possession of the ball, blocks the pathway of the runner, the Umpire shall call or signal the runner safe.
How do you score a base runner hit by batted ball?
If a batted ball hits an Ump before passing a fielder, excluding the pitcher, it is a dead ball hit. All runners advance one base. If the ball hits a runner before passing a fielder and the runner is declared out. Then the batter is placed on first and the judgement of the scorer determines a hit or not.
Do runners have to slide into home?
Runners are not required to slide, and catchers in possession of the ball are allowed to block the plate. However, runners who do slide and catchers who provide the runner with a lane will never be found in violation of the rule.
Can a runner go back to first after touching second?
(a) Batter hits ball out of park or ground rule double and misses first base (ball is dead)_he may return to first base to correct his mistake before he touches second but if he touches second he may not return to first and if defensive team appeals he is declared out at first.
Can a fielder stand in the baseline?
Infielders can stand anywhere they would like to, as long as they don’t impede the runners access to his running lane. … If the infielder is in the baseline when the ball is hit, and he is not in the process of fielding the ball, he needs to move out of the path of the runner. Hope this helps clarify the situation.
What happens if a batted ball hits a runner?
After a batted ball has been touched (deflected) by an infielder, if the ball then strikes a runner (unintentionally on the part of the runner), it is alive and in play despite the fact that another infielder may be in position to field the ball. This is not the case if a fielder is making a play on the ball.
Is it a homerun if you catch the ball and fall over the fence?
It’s a home run if the ball hits off a fielder and bounces over the fence, like the infamous Jose Canseco play. But if the fielder has control of the ball it’s an out. … A batter is out when his fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder.
Can the third base coach touch a runner?
According to Rule 7.09 (h), it is interference, if in the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists the runner in returning to, or leaving third or first base is interfering with the runner.
Who covers second base on a steal?
If there is a right handed batter up, then the 2nd baseman would cover 2nd base. If there is a left handed batter up, then the shortstop would cover 2nd base. So, the 2nd baseman covers 2nd base when a player is trying to steal. If the batter is left-handed, the opposite occurs.
Is it legal to carry your bat around the bases?
He confirmed what we already knew: “There is no rule that prohibits a batter from carrying his bat around the bases. This would be legal as long as he does not use the bat to interfere with the play,” Marazzi wrote in an email.
Does a base runner have to avoid a fielder?
A runner may interfere with a fielder simply by hindering the fielder’s ability to attempt to make a play on a batted ball. If a base runner is hit by a fair-batted ball while standing on a base, the runner is out, unless the ball has already passed an infielder or the infield fly rule has been declared.
Is obstruction a dead ball?
Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. … This is an immediate dead ball and bases are awarded as appropriate.